ICAO Council Recognises Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Others For Progress In Aviation Safety, Security

Roland Ohaeri News, News Updates Leave a Comment

The International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) has recognised Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Gabon, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Uganda and nineteen other countries from different regions for significant progress in resolving safety oversight and security deficiencies, and improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs).

At the ongoing 40th Assembly of the specialised UN organisation, Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu, ICAO Council President presented 28 States from all ICAO regions with Council President Certificates.

ICAO states that based on their achievements in 2018, 16 States are recognized by the ICAO Council for their safety progress. The States are Gabon, Ghana, Mauritania, Mozambique, Congo, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Georgia, Guatemala, India, Montenegro, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Qatar and Serbia.

In the area of Aviation Security, the Council recognised 17 States including; Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda, Mauritania, Namibia, Rwanda, Jamaica, Bahrain, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Maldives, Qatar, , Trinidad and Tobago and Turkey.

President Aliu comments: “These awards, established by the ICAO Council in support of our ongoing No Country Left Behind initiative, have been developed in order to more publicly acknowledge and encourage States’ commitment and progress in making our global network even safer and more secure than it is today.”

The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices is considered a fundamental prerequisite today for establishing air transport’s rapid global connectivity, and in turn the many socio-economic benefits it helps to realize.


Share on Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *